Law News Releases


FAMU Law's Dean Advisory Council Donates to Student Success







For Immediate Release 

Photo Release

November 29, 2022  

ORLANDO, Fla – Florida A&M University (FAMU) College of Law’s Dean’s Advisory Council strongly believes in supporting student success. Council members were challenged to raise $25,000 for an endowed scholarship and exceeded that goal by raising $29,950 in 30 days. The endowment symbolizes a commitment to the long-term support of the law school among the 20-plus legal, governmental, business, and community leaders who comprise the Council.

Several members of the Council formally presented a mock check to establish the endowment during the annual State of FAMU Law Address on Nov. 15, 2022.

“An endowed scholarship is a big deal, and here's why: One, they are forever; Two, it creates a relationship, a bond; and Three, it creates impact,” said John Crossman, who challenged other community leaders to follow the Council’s lead in providing financial support to the law school that is celebrating 20 years in downtown Orlando.

Council members include Ava Doppelt, Chair, Shareholder, Allen, Dyer, Doppelt, + Gilchrist, P.A.; Hon. Faye Allen, Vice Chair and County Judge; John Crossman, CEO, Crossman Career Builders / Crossmarc Services; John Davis, Secretary of the Florida Lottery; Hon. Jerry Demings, Orange County Mayor; Hon. Buddy Dyer, Orlando Mayor; Lindsay Greene, Partner, De Beaubien, Simmons, Knight, Mantzaris, & Neal;  A. Noni Holmes-Kidd, General Counsel, Parkway Property Investments, LLC; Hon. Arthenia Joyner, Former State Senator and 1968 Graduate; William L. “Bud” Kirk, Jr., Partner, Rumberger Kirk; Jarian Lyons, Founding Partner, Lyons Legal, LLC and 2006 Graduate; Hon. Leticia Marques, Circuit Judge; Reginald McGill, Constituent Services Director, City of Orlando / Mayor's Office; Christopher Monts, Founding Partner, Monts Law PL and 2006 Graduate; Nizam Razack, Founder/President, Spine & Brain Neurosurgery Center and 2010 Graduate; Christina Redman, Director of Organizational Development, Dart Interests; Ronda Robinson, Special Assistant to Mayor Jerry L. Demings, Orange County Government;  Gary S. Salzman, Shareholder, Garganese, Weiss, D’Agresta & Salzman, P.A.; Hon. Emerson Thompson, Jr., Senior Judge (Retired); Ralph Veerman, President, Veerman & Associates; Roberta Walton Johnson, General Counsel, Orange County Clerk of Courts and 2005 Graduate; and Jéan Wilson, Managing Shareholder, Greenberg Traurig, P.A.

Dean's Advisory Council members pictured: 

John Crossman

Reginald McGill

Ava Doppelt

Deidré Keller

Arthenia Joyner

Jarian Lyons

Emerson Thompson

Back to All News Releases