FAMU Law Review Welcomes New Members at Eighth Pinning Ceremony


FAMU Law Review Welcomes New Members at Eighth Pinning Ceremony

Law Review
Caption: FAMU Law Review Editorial Board (seated), Dean LeRoy Pernell (center), Ruth Singer, Esq., '08 (center right), and Associate Professor Randall Abate (center right) pose with newly inducted and current Law Review members.

Orlando, Fla. – A host of family members and invited guests attended the induction ceremony of 22 new members into Law Review at Florida A&M University (FAMU) College of Law on Friday, October 19, 2012. The annual event was held in the College's Ceremonial Moot Courtroom.

The FAMU Law Review represents some of the brightest legal minds the College of Law has to offer providing a vehicle for academic publishing in the field of law. Students selected for law review are in the top percentage of their respective classes, and/or demonstrate a high level of research and writing skills. Through eight ceremonies, the FAMU Law Review has inducted nearly 200 law students.

The program included welcome remarks from College of Law Dean LeRoy Pernell, and Associate Professor Randall Abate, who serves as FAMU Law Review faculty advisor. The program also featured remarks from current members of the Law Review editorial board, and a keynote address delivered by Ruth Singer, Esq., '08, Law Review Alumnus, and Editor-in Chief during the 2007-2008 academic year.

The 22 new members pinned, who are either second-year day, or third-year evening program students, included: Neil Ambekar, Joshua Andone, Dillon Chansen, Hecter Concepcion, Ian Depagnier, Daren Dorminy, Phil Gurevich, Matthew Haldeman, Stephanie Hampton, Kelman Harrell, Michael Harrison, Robert Johnson, Alexandra Kalman, Brittany Leonard, Justin Levitt, Cynthia McGee, Andre'a Minus, Cynthia Ramkellawan, Taylor Tremel, Robert Trott, Aisha White, and Jason Willis.

In addition to pinning new Law Review members, Dean Pernell also re-pinned FAMU Law Review Alumni. Singer was joined by Paige Carlos, '12; Jacques Cooper, '09; and Christopher Monts, '07 in the tribute.

The new members will assist with the production of the Florida A&M University Law Review, a student-edited periodical that seeks to generate knowledge and progressively contribute to the development of law. The Fall 2012 issue is scheduled for publication in February 2013, with the Spring 2013 issue scheduled for a June 2013 publication. The latest issue, Green Justice for All: International and Comparative Dimensions of Environmental Justice, was completed in Spring 2012 as Volume 7, Number 2.